What Speaking Your Truth Means To Me – Donna Mazzetelli

Since I was a young girl, I dreamed about being a writer. It always felt like a far-off fantasy—never to be realized. As years passed, I’ve often had comments from friends and family that I should write. I would just smile, laugh a little, and shrug it off as kind words from people who love me.

In the summer of 2009, however, I felt the call to write in a bigger way, so I began my blog, Bellisima Goddess. It’s been a great way to get my thoughts, feelings, and ideas out. I’ve loved the process of blogging about subjects I care about passionately.

Earlier this year, when the possibility of becoming a contributor to Speaking Your Truth became a real opportunity, I didn’t really understand how powerful the process would be. As I let go of all self-criticism and self-doubt, I plunged into writing about an important part of my life’s journey towards the rediscovery of my own voice. Although I found writing about certain life events very emotional, it was also cathartic and empowering as I connected to the transformation that’s begun in my life. I found myself revisiting events, yet–like an owl–I was able to look on them from above—from a different vantage point that allowed me to take in more of what the experiences really meant for me. And I was able to see some of the ways in which I’ve grown in wisdom and self-love.

By the end of the writing and revision process, I felt a deep sense of gratitude. As scary as it was to disclose some of my life experiences and my feelings around those events, I knew I was among other brave women who were also revealing deeper parts of themselves for all to see.

I am honored to stand in this circle of women who have taken steps as authors and as wise and courageous women to speak our truths. My hope is that our stories will touch others in ways that encourage them to speak up and speak out as well.

Donna Mazzitelli is a writer and author of the Bellisima Goddess blog. She enjoys writing articles for magazines and online publications and is currently working on her first book. As an advocate for Mother Earth and her inhabitants, she enjoys teaching workshops and leading green wisdom circles in an exploration of green, healthy living. She shares her passion for creating a green lifestyle with individuals, families and businesses through her company, Bellisima Living, LLC. She loves working with individuals one-on-one to bring a deeper shade of green to their lives. She currently resides in Castle Rock, Colorado with her husband, twin teenage daughters, and loving pets. To learn more, visit her blog at www.bellisimagoddess.com and her website at www.bellisimaliving.com.

“Each of us has a story to tell and there is nothing quite as powerful as the written word – for both the writer and the reader. The wide scope of real life stories shared in this book is a learning journey of how we each have life events to share that create our core being.”   

Cheri Ruskus, Founder of the Victory Circles and Author of Victory One Moment at a Time.

1 Response to “What Speaking Your Truth Means To Me – Donna Mazzetelli”


  1. 1 Mike July 23, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    You are so right. Finding one’s truth is an interesting experience.


Leave a Reply

Grab the Speaking Your Truth Book on Amazon

Categories

"There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside of you." Maya Angelou

